Pakistan advanced to the semi-finals after beating Bangladesh by five wickets in their must-win encounter in the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Super 12 stage at the Adelaide Oval on Sunday, November 6.
Pakistan’s star spinner Shadab Khan picked up the crucial wicket of Shakib Al Hasan, who was given out LBW in Bangladesh’s innings, which created a controversy. The decision could have gone in favour of Shakib after he reviewed it, but the third umpire upheld the original decision.
Shakib was furious and didn’t want to leave the field, but there was nothing he could have done. The 35-year-old was dismissed for a golden duck as Bangladesh struggled to get going in the middle.
Umpires Gave It Out, So It’s Out – Shadab Khan
Speaking to the official broadcaster of the T20 World Cup on Sunday, When asked about Shakib’s dismissal, Pakistan vice-captain Shadab Khan made a fairly harsh remark, suggesting that the Bangladesh captain was out because the umpire gave him out.
“So far so good. Bowlers have done their job. We assessed the conditions well. Hopefully, batters do the same. Slower ones (are effective) for fast bowlers, and if you bowl slow as a spinner you will also get help.
“Umpires gave it out, so it’s out (Shakib decision). We have world-class openers. Babar hasn’t performed well but he’s a big match player,” Shadab said in a chat with the broadcaster during the innings break.
Former India head coach Ravi Shastri, who is one of the tournament commentators in Australia, shared his opinions on the issue.
“Which (the shadow) suggests the bat was in the air and there is a spike, so that ball has to hit the bat and nothing else. But, I think he will be a little disappointed, that it really turned the entire momentum of the game. Big player, big wicket, knockout game and when your captain is dismissed in that fashion, it has a bearing on the dugout,” Shastri said during the innings break.