NZ vs IND Match Preview, India Tour Of New Zealand 2022, 2nd ODI


India take on New Zealand in the second of the three ODIS on November 27. Sunday. The match starts at 7 pm IST. The 2nd ODI will be played on November 27 (Sunday) at Seddon Park (Hamilton) while the 3rd ODI will be played on November 30 (Wednesday) at Hagley Oval (Christchurch).

The Kiwis won the first ODI by seven wickets and are leading the series 1-0. The Men in Blue needs to win the second game to keep the series alive.

An unbeaten 221-run stand between Tom Latham (145*) and Kane Williamson (94*) saw the Kiwis chasing down a target of 307 in 48 overs. India handed debut caps to Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik in the first ODI. Both of them went for runs while Umran picked up two wickets. None of the Indian bowlers were able to control the onslaught by the Kiwi pair.

Kane Williamson and Tom Latham
Kane Williamson and Tom Latham. Pic Credits: Twitter.

Overall, it was New Zealand’s 50th ODI win over India and their fifth consecutive win in their last five games. The Men in Blue needs to find inspiration in Hamilton to keep the series alive or else they will lose the series. India defeated the home team New Zealand in the three-match T20I series 1-0.

The opening T20I game was washed out due to rain. In the 2nd T20I, the men-in-blue won by 65 runs after defending a mammoth 191-run target. The NZ vs IND 3rd T20I was tied through the DLS method.

NZ vs IND Match Preview, India Tour Of New Zealand 2022, 2nd ODI


Shikhar Dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan. Pic Credits: Twitter.

Despite the Indian top-order firing and the lower-order chipping in, the Men in Blue lost the first ODI. Rishabh Pant’s form in this series has been a major concern for the management. He scored 6 and 11 in the two T20Is he played and just 15 in the first ODI. Washington Sundar and Sanju Samson also got runs to lower down the order which proved the Indian batting depth.

Deepak Chahar, PC- BCCI
Deepak Chahar, PC- BCCI

All the bowlers went for runs. In the absence of Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the attack lacked experience. Deepak Chahar was not included in the first game as well. He should be brought back into the XI to add more depth to the bowling attack.

There are no injury concerns within the team at the moment. They will need to put this loss behind them and start afresh in the next game looking to draw level in the series.

India Squad

Shikhar Dhawan (c), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Hooda, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar

New Zealand

Kane Williamson and Tom Latham
Kane Williamson and Tom Latham. Pic Credits: Twitter.

It was a great comeback from the Kiwis after losing out on the T20I series. As said earlier, this was their fifth consecutive win over India in the format. India last played New Zealand in New Zealand in a bilateral series in 2020. India whitewashed the Kiwis 5-0 in the T20I series winning two matches on Super Over. The Kiwis came back to win the ODI (3-0) and the Test series (2-0).

Kane Williamson and Tom Latham decimated the Indian attack and gave them no chance to come back into the game. It was a flawless performance and a chanceless partnership from the duo.

Tim Southee-Lockie Ferguson
(Photo by Evan Barnes/Getty Images)

The bowlers played their roles to perfection. Tim Southee and Lockie Ferguson took three wickets each. The Kiwis are not likely to make any changes to their squad after an emphatic win and would back the players to complete a series win.

New Zealand Squad

Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson(c), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(w), Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Michael Bracewell, James Neesham

Also Read: IND vs NZ: Shikhar Dhawan Breaks Silence On Being Replaced By KL Rahul As Captain At Last Minute For Zimbabwe ODIs

Cricket Match Prediction|T20 World Cup Match Prediction|Today Match Fantasy Prediction|Fantasy Cricket Tips|Cricket News and Updates|Cricket Live Score


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here