New Zealand announce split ODI squads for Pakistan and India tours


New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has announced its men’s squad for the upcoming ODI series against the hosts Pakistan. Kane Williamson will continue to lead the side in a three-match ODI leg starting on January 10, 2023.

The apex cricketing board also picked its men’s ODI squad for the forthcoming series against India in India. The selectors have named split squads for both tours in order to manage the workload of players.

Tom Latham will captain the Black Caps in India as regular skipper Williamson returns home after the Pakistan tour. Along with Williamson, head coach Gary Stead, veteran pacer Tim Southee and bowling coach Shane Jurgensen will also fly back home following the Pakistan ODIs.

Mark Chapman and Jacob Duffy will replace Williamson and Southee for the India tour, while Luke Ronchi will take over the head coach role in Stead’s absence.

Henry Shipley, an uncapped all-rounder, has received his maiden call-up to the national team after impressing on the domestic circuit. He will be part of New Zealand’s ODI squad on both tours.

“Henry’s an exciting talent who we’ve had our eye on for a while. He’s taken his game to another level in the past 12 months, and we’re delighted to see his progression given how valuable genuine all-rounders are in any cricket team. It’s encouraging to see players putting their hands up in our domestic competitions and their performances being rewarded with selection for the national team,” selector Gavin Larsen said in an official statement.

He added: “The tour will also present further opportunities for the likes of Finn Allen, Glenn Phillips and Mark Chapman, who are hugely talented but still relatively inexperienced at the international ODI level. It’s also great to welcome back the familiar faces of Henry Nicholls and Jacob Duffy, who were with the ODI team in Europe in the winter and have been in good form domestically.”

New Zealand squads for the ODI series against Pakistan and India:

Kane Williamson (c) (Pakistan ODIs only), Tom Latham (captain – India ODIs), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (India ODIs only), Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy (India ODI’s only), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (Pakistan ODIs only).


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here