Match Preview, India Tour Of New Zealand 2022, 2nd T20I

IND vs NZ: Match Preview, India Tour Of New Zealand 2022, 2nd T20I. India and New Zealand will lock horns in the second fixture of the three-match T20I series at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui on Sunday, 20th November.

The first T20I at Wellington was called off without a ball being bowled thanks to persistent rains. In Mount Maunganui, both teams and fans will be hoping for improved weather.

The ground in Wellington was too damp to play on Friday and the umpires decided to call off the 1st T20I game. India are scheduled to play three ODIs after two more T20 Internationals as part of their tour of New Zealand.

India vs New Zealand Photo Credit: (Facebook/New Zealand Cricket)

IND vs NZ: Match Preview, India Tour Of New Zealand 2022, 2nd T20I

Both the teams had come in following their exit from the semifinal stage of the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia.  New Zealand were defeated by Pakistan, while India were defeated by eventual champions England.

Hardik Pandya and Virat Kohli (Photo- Twitter)
Hardik Pandya and Virat Kohli (Photo- Twitter)

Star all-rounder Hardik Pandya is leading the Indian T20I team in place of regular skipper Rohit Sharma, with wicketkeeper batter, Rishabh Pant serving as his deputy. Star batsman Virat Kohli and opener KL Rahul were both rested in addition to Rohit Sharma for the entire New Zealand tour.

India will begin a new era in T20 cricket under Hardik Pandya’s leadership. The Men in Blue won’t be having a new-look team, while New Zealand will be without Martin Guptill and Trent Boult.

Trent Boult and Martin Guptill.
Trent Boult and Martin Guptill. Credits: ICC

The series against a quality New Zealand outfit will test Hardik Pandya’s leadership. It will also give a few youngsters an opportunity to show they belong at the top level. Players like Sanju Samson, Shubman Gill, Washington Sundar, and Kuldeep Yadav, who were waiting in the wings have a great chance to show their class.

Kuldeep Yadav of India. PC- BCCI
Kuldeep Yadav of India. PC- BCCI

Umran Malik is back, and it will be interesting to see the speed and control at which he bowls at. For New Zealand, it will be about doing well at home. NZC board have placed a bet on youngster Finn Allen, and it would be interesting to see how he manages to cope with high expectations.

SRH Ex-Captain Kane Williamson
SRH Ex-Captain Kane Williamson (Photo: IPL)

Skipper Kane Williamson will also be keen to prove himself after the snub by Sunrisers Hyderabad before IPL 2023 mini auctions for having a poor IPL 2022.

With Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, and Rohit Sharma being rested, India may open with Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan for this NZ series. Shreyas Iyer or Deepak Hooda may play at number three with Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya to follow.

The toss-up for the last batter will be between Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson but both may play if Ishan Kishan doesn’t open and Suryakumar Yadav opens. Rishabh Pant being the vice-captain is a certainty. With Ravichandran Ashwin being left out, Yuzvendra Chahal will start as the main spinner, with Washington Sundar playing the role of a spin-bowling all-rounder.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar Arshdeep Singh
Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Arshdeep Singh. Image: Twitter

India may rest the likes of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Arshdeep Singh, while the likes of Harshal Patel, Umran Malik and Mohammed Siraj may get the nod for the 2nd T20I as Indian management would like to test the bench strength.

Adam Milne may replace Trent Boult in New Zealand’s playing XI. Finn Allen’s retention at the top of the order for both ODI and T20I squads means there’s no room for Martin Guptill. Trent Boult is the other notable omission from the squads – with Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner, and Adam Milne filling the pace bowling ranks in T20Is.

India’s T20I Squad: Hardik Pandya (C), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson(wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.

New Zealand’s T20I Squad: Kane Williamson (C), Michael Bracewell, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Finn Allen (wk), Devon Conway (wk), Glenn Phillips(wk), Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner.

India Predicted XI: Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Yuzvendra Chahal

New Zealand Predicted XI: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson, Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Adam Milne

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here