Kane Williamson And Gary Stead Will Miss The India Tour


In order to manage the workload of the players and support personnel, New Zealand Cricket has confirmed that regular skipper Kane Williamson and Head Coach Gary Stead will not be traveling to India in the early part of next year.

NZC stated that Tom Latham will take over as captain of the ODI team in India in place of Kane Williamson when naming the teams for the forthcoming trips to Pakistan and India. 

IPL 2023 | India tour of Bangladesh 2022 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Sri Lanka tour of 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson. Pic Credits: Twitter.

Mark Chapman To Replace Kane Williamson For India Tour

After the Pakistan ODIs, Tim Southee, a seasoned fast bowler, and bowling coach Shane Jurgensen will also return home in addition to Williamson and Stead. Kane Williamson and Tim Southee will be replaced in the team for the India trip by Mark Chapman and Jacob Duffy, while Luke Ronchi will take over as head coach in Stead’s absence. 

Ish Sodhi, a legspinner, and Henry Nicholls, a batsman, have been summoned back to the ODI team for both trips. All-rounder Henry Shipley, who has never played for his country, received his first call-up after making an impression on the local circuit. As he continues to rehabilitate from a back injury, Kyle Jamieson, who last played in June of this year, is still not eligible for selection.

Kane Williamson (PC-Getty Images)
Kane Williamson (PC-Getty Images)

India IPL 2023 Auction | IND vs BAN 2022 | India vs Bangladesh 2022 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023

“Henry’s an exciting talent who we’ve had our eye on for a while,” selector Gavin Larsen said. “He’s taken his game to another level in the past 12 months, and we’re delighted to see his progression given how valuable genuine all-rounders are in any cricket team. It’s encouraging to see players putting their hands up in our domestic competitions and their performances being rewarded with selection for the national team.  

“The tour will also present further opportunities for the likes of Finn Allen, Glenn Phillips, and Mark Chapman, who are hugely talented but still relatively inexperienced at international ODI level. It’s also great to welcome back the familiar faces of Henry Nicholls and Jacob Duffy, who were with the ODI team in Europe in the winter and have been in good form domestically.”  

New Zealand
Image Credits: Twitter/ICC

After the two Test matches, New Zealand will play Pakistan in a three-match ODI series before traveling to India for three further ODIs and three T20Is beginning January 18. Later, the team for the T20I series in India will be revealed. 

ODI squad: Kane Williamson (C – only for Pakistan ODIs), Tom Latham (C – India ODIs), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (India ODIs only), Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy (India ODIs only), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (Pakistan ODIs only) 

Also Read: IND vs SL: 3 Indian Players Who Can Retire From ODIs After The Series

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah



Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here